Christmas at Mildred’s

I booked to see a play called Christmas at Mildred’s as part of the RADA Festival. What I didn’t expect was for the full title to be Christmas at Mildred’s with Zombies. The play, set in the near future, is about a group of women trying to survive in a country that has been taken over by zombies. Attempting to have a Christmas as normal as possible, their celebrations are interrupted by the arrival of a woman claiming to be a fellow survivor. But is she here for a more sinister purpose?

Written and devised by members of DollyGrip Productions, who also star, it’s a very enjoyable play. I liked the performances too, particularly those of Lily-Fleur Bradbury as Birdie and Miztli Rose Neville as Gem.

I enjoyed this play: it was funny and unexpected. I think some of the characterisation and plot points could be more fully explored, but I’m sure that will be looked at in the future. I didn’t know this was a script-in-hand reading before I went in, and I wish this had been made clear, but at the same time it didn’t really detract from my enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

