A Celebration of British Opera with Opera Holland Park

A Celebration of British Opera was performed by members of Opera Holland Park in the intimate surroundings of the Royal Albert Hall’s Elgar Room. The programme, listed below, consisted of selected works by British composers, many of which I was unfamiliar with.

I found myself really enjoying the evening, and it really helped me broaden my opera knowledge.

Broughton
How Beautiful they are’ from The Immortal Hour

Vaughan Williams
‘My Father’s Choice’, ‘Sir John in Love’ and ‘Oh who would be unhappy me’ from The Poisoned Kiss

Benedict
‘The Moon has raised her lamp above’ from The Lily of Killarney

Delius
‘Arias from A Village’ from Romeo and Juliet

Vaughan Williams
Hugh the Drover and Riders to the Sea

Dove
Flight

Britten
Peter Grimes and The Rape of Lucretia

Leave a Reply

