Stravinsky Series: Tragedy

The Stravinsky series of concerts on the South Bank ended on a high, despite the theme of Tragedy, with performances of two pieces.

Igor Stravinsky: Oedipus rex – opera/oratorio in 2 acts
Igor Stravinsky: Symphony of Psalms for chorus & orchestra

Oedipus rex was another nod to classical myth while the Symphony of Psalms was a powerful way to end the series. I’m glad I went to this season – I learned a lot about music and a lot about Stravinsky.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.