Stravinsky Series: Rituals

The Philharmonia Orchestra is having a Stravinsky season this year: it’s called Myths & Rituals, and as someone who loves ‘The Rite of Spring’, I’ve been determined to attend every concert in the season. Most of them are taking place in the Royal Festival Hall, including this first concert, subtitled Rituals.

Igor Stravinsky: Symphonies of Wind Instruments (vers. rev. 1947)
Igor Stravinsky: Agon – ballet
Igor Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

The opening piece was a short, unusual but memorable one. The second, the ballet Agon, was semi-staged, powerful and ritualistic. I wasn’t familiar with it, but I did enjoy it. The concert ended with ‘The Rite of Spring’, which remains one of my favourite pieces of classical music. Performed alone without an accompanying staged ballet, the music loses none of its impact.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.