The Tiger’s Bones and Other Stories

The Tiger’s Bones and Other Stories is a trilogy of plays by poet Ted Hughes, originally written for radio but adapted for the stage at Polka Theatre in Wimbledon. The plays, directed here by Jack McNamara with simple and clever staging, retell traditional tales with sly humour and rich language. The Coming of the Kings is a humorous version of the Nativity, while Sean the Fool is a reminder that it is always important to be kind. Finally, the title story is a prescient commentary on the importance of the environment and the dangers of climate change.

Ably performed by a cast of four, this is an enjoyable production for children and adults alike.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s