Henry VIII; or All Is True

20151018_182044

I’ve been trying for years to see every single Shakespeare play performed, and had almost completed my quest, except for Henry VIII; or All Is True, which eluded me. This play, which tells the story of the king’s quest for a divorce from Catherine of Aragon so that he can marry Anne Boleyn and hopefully produce a longed-for male heir, is hardly ever performed these days – the Globe did it a few years ago, but as that was before I moved to London, I didn’t get a chance to see it.

Thankfully, I found out that a performance would be taking place in Brighton, organised by Dan Wilson, who dreamt up a quest on his 37th birthday to see every Shakespeare play of the traditional canon in live performance. As he couldn’t find a perofmance of this play, he decided to sort one out himself – and I’m very grateful to him, although I do wish he’d done it a few months ago so that I could have completed the canon before my 30th birthday. Still, you can’t have everything!

The play is the only history play in the traditional canon without a battle, and has the dubious honour of being the production responsible for the destruction of the Globe Theatre in 1613, when a cannon shot ignited the thatched roof and burned the building to the ground. During the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries it was a popular work, often performed with lavish parades and grand tableaux, but nowadays it is much more rarely performed.

Performed by Droll and Folly Theatre in the Nightingale Room above the Grand Central pub in Brighton, the script-in-hand performance was an entertaining romp through the Bard’s most recent – in terms of content – history play. Duncan Henderson was suitably regal as King Henry, while Nicholas Quirke, who also directed, gave a good performance as Cardinal Wolsey. Peta Taylor was excellent as Katherine of Aragon, who, interestingly, plays a much larger part in the drama than Anne Boleyn (known here as Anne Bullen). I also enjoyed Simon Helyer’s amusing performance as the Lord Chamberlain.

Henry VIII isn’t exactly a masterpiece, but I honestly don’t know why it is performed so rarely as it is. I’m really glad I made the effort to see it: I can finally say I’ve completed the canon.

4 thoughts on “Henry VIII; or All Is True

  1. Hello Laura. Thanks for the review of Henry VIII (I played Cromwell and Buckingham), and congrats on completing the canon. I have to say that personally I can very well see why Henry VIII is so rarely performed, but that’s perhaps a discussion for another day. Just wanted to say that, if you’re interested in all things Shakespearean, you might be intrigued by the one-man show I’m bringing to London on 17th December. It’s called Something Rotten and it’s a re-working of Hamlet as seen from the viewpoint of the Prince’s homicidal Uncle Claudius.
    There’s more at http://www.facebook.com/events/405829219613964/ and an extract to behold at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VhiYMCYpLFs
    Drop me a line if you want to know more.
    Cheers
    Robert

  2. Nice review Laura. Much appreciated by DAFT and congratulations on seeing them all. Katherine of Aragon is that rare thing:a fantastic Shakespearean role for a middle aged woman. Such a shame it’s in a play otherwise less thrilling…
    Pleased I got to play her!
    Peta

    • Peta,

      You were really great in it and, as you say, Katherine is a good role in a shoddy play. There has to be a reworking of Henry VIII that brings the role to the fore.

      dw

Leave a Reply

