Borges & I

Idle Motion are an acclaimed theatre company whose latest show, entitled Borges & I, is running at the New Diorama Theatre. Mingling the story of the life of writer and librarian Jorge Luis Borges with a modern-day book group, the show is about the love of books and reading and how it affects lives. In real life, Borges himself went blind and this is paralleled in the modern-day tale as one of the main characters learns that she will suffer the same fate.

As a librarian myself I had to go and see this show, and I loved it. It mixed strong performances with a profound love of books, shadowplay and physical theatre. I left with a renewed appreciation of literature and a reinforced faith in the human spirit, and I’d love to catch another of Idle Motion’s shows in the future.

Leave a Reply

