Godspell in Concert

Described as an “epic rock musical”, Godspell is a show which hasn’t been seen on the West End for over forty years. The score was composed by Stephen Schwartz of Wicked fame, which is why I booked a ticket to this one-off concert performance at the Lyric Theatre (usually home to Thriller: Live) to raise money for the Make-a-Wish foundation.

Unfortunately, I have to say that I was disappointed. I was expecting something along the lines of Jesus Christ Superstar, but this show is just a mix of stories from the gospel told in song. Despite a lighthearted tone I found it preachy, and it didn’t pique my interest.

In fairness, the cast were marvellous. Andy Abrahams (of X Factor fame), Stewart Clarke, Zoe Tyler and Rob Houchen took the lead roles, and they, as well as the supporting cast, were superb. In terms of the production as a whole, however, I’m just glad that the evening was for charity, or else I would have been disappointed that my money was ill-spent.

Leave a Reply

