A Dashing Fellow

As I’ve probably mentioned, I’m obsessed with anything Russian when it comes to the theatre. A Dashing Fellow, an adaptation of several Vladimir Nabokov stories, appealed to me, and I booked well in advance.

The show is set in the 1930s, and the ingenious set is a piece of scaffolding which represents a train station, a railway carriage and a number of other locations. I liked the Devil character who held the stories together – he was a cross between the Devil from The Master and Margarita and the Emcee from Cabaret. I kept expecting him to burst into song at any minute. The stories themselves were engaging, funny, surprising and shocking. I would have liked them to have been drawn together more, but overall I did enjoy the experience.

Leave a Reply

