‘Tis Pity She’s a Whore

This production of John Ford’s classic 1633 play by acclaimed theatre company Cheek By Jowl has been repeatedly praised, but unfortunately I didn’t particularly enjoy it. This tale of a brother and sister involved in an illicit incestuous relationship is meant to be one of the great Jacobean tragedies, but I couldn’t engage with it and I was frequently confused. The modern setting and the prevalence of music and dancing distracted me from the plot, and there were times when I couldn’t make out the dialogue.

I don’t have a problem in principle with reimagining old drama for the modern age, but this particular production just didn’t work for me, I’m afraid.

Leave a Reply

