Rift Zone

I’ve been fascinated by Iceland ever since I visited a couple of years ago. So I booked to see Rift Zone at the New Diorama Theatre immediately – a piece by Night Light Theatre inspired by the Land of Fire and Ice.

The play had many intriguing elements: a simple but beautiful set evoking caves, magic realms and the Northern Lights, a selection of folk tunes played live, and a fairy tale-like parable of a plot. I enjoyed it, but I did think it was rather ‘bitty’ and confusing at times – I felt it could have been made rather more coherent. Altogether, though, a brave attempt to create something a bit different.

Leave a Reply

